24 Apprenticeship Slots in Northern Region-II, No Fee and No Exam | POWERGRID
| Post | Level | Basic pay | Posts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate Apprentice (Electrical / Civil) | Graduate | ₹17,500 | 4 |
| Diploma Apprentice (Electrical / Civil) | Diploma | ₹15,000 | 12 |
| ITI Apprentice (Electrician) | ITI | ₹13,500 | 8 |
POWERGRID, a Maharatna under the Ministry of Power, is engaging apprentices for one year under the Apprentices Act 1961. This listing covers NORTHERN REGION-II, advertisement NR2/HR/APPRENTICE/2026/01 dated 21 August 2026, which offers 24 slots. A note on the numbers being reported elsewhere. POWERGRID has not published a single national apprenticeship notice. It has issued a set of SEPARATE REGIONAL ADVERTISEMENTS on the same date - Corporate Centre, Northern Region I, II and III, Eastern Region I and II, Odisha Projects, North Eastern Region, North Western Region, Western Region I and II, and Southern Region I and II - each with its own advertisement number, its own vacancy table and its own application. The "270 posts all-India" figure circulating on job sites appears in none of them; it is an aggregation, and our own tally across the regional notices did not reproduce it. Apply against the region you want to train in, and read that region's own notice. Northern Region-II is headquartered at Jammu and covers Punjab 9, Jammu & Kashmir 8, Haryana 2, Himachal Pradesh 2, Ladakh 2 and Chandigarh 1. Trades are ITI (Electrician), Diploma (Electrical), Diploma (Civil), Graduate (Electrical) and Graduate (Civil). Stipends are Rs 13,500 a month for ITI, Rs 15,000 for diploma - including a Rs 5,450 Direct Benefit Transfer from the Government under NATS - and Rs 17,500 for graduates, including a Rs 6,150 DBT. A further Rs 2,500 is paid where company accommodation is not provided. There is no application fee, no written examination and no interview. Applications are screened on merit against the eligibility criteria and the notified slots, candidates are called for document verification at a 1:5 ratio, and the merit list is drawn from those who attend and are found suitable. Eligibility turns on a two-year window: the final result must have been declared between 11.09.2024 and 10.09.2026. Qualifications must be full-time and regular, with correspondence, distance and online modes excluded. Anyone who has already served an apprenticeship anywhere, or who holds more than a year of job experience, is barred, as is anyone under 18 or awaiting a result. Candidates must first hold a NAPS enrolment number (ITI) or a NATS number (diploma and degree) before applying on the POWERGRID site. Applications run 25 August to 10 September 2026. The training lasts one year and confers no claim to employment with POWERGRID.
Train for one year as an apprentice with POWERGRID's Northern Region-II under the Apprentices Act 1961 Report to one of the region's training locations - for J&K these include Jammu, Samba, Kishenpur, Wagoora and New Wanpoh; the wider list adds Chandigarh, Hamirpur, Nalagarh, Abdullapur, Kaithal, Panchkula, Fatehabad, Moga, Malerkotla, Jalandhar, Patiala, Ludhiana, Amritsar, Kargil, Phyang, Drass and Khalste Accept assignment to any training location within your state as facilities require Sign the tri-partite apprenticeship contract on the NATS or NAPS portal, and submit a medical certificate in the prescribed format and police verification before engagement Maintain satisfactory performance and attendance - poor performance or unauthorised absence can end the apprenticeship Hold an active Aadhaar-seeded bank account for the Direct Benefit Transfer portion of the stipend
THE 24 SLOTS IN NORTHERN REGION-II Jammu & Kashmir 8 - Graduate (Electrical) 1, Graduate (Civil) 1, Diploma (Electrical) 2, Diploma (Civil) 2, ITI (Electrician) 2. Category split UR 4, OBC(NCL) 2, SC 1, ST 1. Punjab 9 - Graduate (Electrical) 1, Graduate (Civil) 1, Diploma (Electrical) 5, Diploma (Civil) 2. One Diploma (Electrical) slot is horizontally reserved for PwBD. Haryana 2, Himachal Pradesh 2, Ladakh 2, Chandigarh 1. Every state table's category split adds exactly to its own total, and the six totals add to 24. QUALIFICATION AND STIPEND ITI (Electrician) - full-time ITI in the Electrician trade - Rs 13,500 a month. Diploma (Electrical) or Diploma (Civil) - full-time three-year diploma - Rs 15,000 a month, of which Rs 5,450 is the Government's Direct Benefit Transfer under NATS. Graduate (Electrical) or Graduate (Civil) - full-time four-year BE, B.Tech or B.Sc (Engg) - Rs 17,500 a month, of which Rs 6,150 is the DBT. An additional Rs 2,500 a month is paid where no company accommodation is provided. THE TWO-YEAR RESULT WINDOW - THE RULE THAT DISQUALIFIES MOST PEOPLE Your final result must have been declared between 11.09.2024 and 10.09.2026. Older qualifications are not eligible, and neither is anyone still awaiting a final result. The date of declaration of result must appear on the marksheet or certificate; if it does not, you must upload supporting proof. The qualification must be full-time and regular. Part-time, correspondence, distance and online modes are all excluded. If your marksheet does not state the percentage, you need a percentage conversion letter from the institute; if it does not state the specialisation, you need a letter confirming it. ALSO INELIGIBLE Anyone under 18. Anyone who has already undergone apprenticeship training in any organisation, for any duration. Anyone with more than one year of job experience. PwBD SUITABILITY The Diploma (Electrical) post is identified as suitable for HI (D, HH), LD (OL, LC, Dw, AAV, and SD & SI with or without associated limb dysfunction), ID (SLD, MI) and multiple disabilities involving those. SELECTION - NO EXAM, NO INTERVIEW Applications are screened on merit against the eligibility criteria and the notified slots. Candidates are called for document verification in a ratio of 1:5 against the slots, notified by email, with no TA or DA paid. The merit list is then drawn from those who attend verification and are found suitable. Engagement follows on signing the tri-partite apprenticeship contract on the NATS or NAPS site, plus a medical certificate in the prescribed format and police verification. Incomplete or ineligible applications are rejected summarily with no intimation. ONE YEAR, AND NO CLAIM TO A JOB The apprenticeship runs one year from the date of joining. The advertisement states plainly that an apprentice has no claim to any employment with POWERGRID afterwards.
Advertisement NR2/HR/APPRENTICE/2026/01, POWERGRID Northern Region Transmission System-II, Grid Bhawan, Rail Head Complex, Jammu-180012, dated 21 August 2026. DATES Online applications open 25.08.2026 and close 10.09.2026. REGISTER ON THE GOVERNMENT PORTAL BEFORE APPLYING An enrolment number is required before the POWERGRID form can be completed: NAPS at https://apprenticeshipindia.gov.in for ITI (Electrician) candidates NATS at https://nats.education.gov.in for diploma and degree candidates THEN APPLY ON POWERGRID www.powergrid.in, then Careers, Engagement of Apprentices, Apply Online. No other mode of application is accepted. There is no application fee, no written examination and no interview. APPLYING FROM ANOTHER REGION This notice covers Northern Region-II only. POWERGRID issued separate advertisements for its other regions on the same date, each with its own vacancy table and application. They are listed together on the rolling apprenticeship page at powergrid.in - open the one for the region you want to train in and read its own eligibility table. DOCUMENTS The NATS or NAPS enrolment number; the final marksheet or certificate carrying the date the result was declared, which must fall between 11.09.2024 and 10.09.2026; a percentage conversion letter where the marksheet omits the percentage; a letter confirming specialisation where it is not stated; the category certificate where claimed; and an active Aadhaar-seeded bank account for the Direct Benefit Transfer element of the stipend. SHORTLISTING Merit-based screening against the eligibility criteria and notified slots, then document verification at a 1:5 ratio, intimated by email to the registered address. No TA or DA is paid. The merit list is drawn from those who attend verification and are found suitable. Incomplete or ineligible applications are rejected summarily without intimation. QUERIES apprentice_nr2@powergrid.in is the only address printed in the advertisement. No helpline number is given.
Apply via link ↗